The Extraordinary World Of YES

 Contacting Us
 More Pages...

YES Update - Yes inducted to Rock Hall of Fame (April 2017)  

On 7 April 2017 at the Barclay Centre in Brooklyn NY USA the Yes lineup of Jon Anderson, the late Chris Squire, Steve Howe, Rick Wakeman, Alan White, Bill Bruford, Trevor Rabin and Tony Kaye (absent due to health) was inducted into the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame. The eloquent Geddy Lee & Alex Lifeson of Rush inducted the band with Lee stating it was their privilege "to right a terrible wrong" by welcoming Yes to the RRHOF, strongly appropriate words that were notably edited out of the later telecast. Jon Anderson dedicated the award to "the Yes fans everywhere" and revealed that the day marked the 49th anniversary of his first meeting with Chris Squire. Steve Howe expressed his gratitude to the fans for "having a different ear" to general music lovers to fully appreciate the intricacies of Yes music. Yes then treated the large enthusiastic audience to powerful energized performances of 'Roundabout' and 'Owner of a Lonely Heart' featuring Jon Anderson (lead vocals), Steve Howe (guitar, bass on Owner), Rick Wakeman (keyboards), Alan White (drums), Trevor Rabin (guitar) and Geddy Lee (guest bassist on Roundabout).

With the 50th anniversary of Yes to occur in 2018, it was obvious to many fans that the most potent Yes lineup and the one best suited to celebrating all eras of the band would be the Yes musicians that were onstage together at the Barclay Centre. It's possible that the musicians themselves recognise that too but whether it is sufficient for them to agree to come together again in the same format next year is another question entirely. In the meantime, audiences have the intriguing prospect of two different Yes lineups continuing to tour - "Yes" including Steve Howe & Alan White as well as "Yes featuring ARW" with Jon Anderson, Trevor Rabin & Rick Wakeman. Whatever happens, there promises to be plenty of Yes music being performed.